We use cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By continuing to use our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more
0 Items
Select Page

Oxford Reading Tree & Oxford Levels

Want to know about Oxford Reading Tree and Oxford Levels? Find out how schools use them to teach children to read around the world, and discover how you can help your child learn to read at home.

What is Oxford Reading Tree?

‘I love Biff, Chip and Kipper so much I named my pet stick insects after them’ – Rhys, age 6

As the UK’s most successful reading scheme, Oxford Reading Tree has helped millions of children from all over the world learn to read and love to read. Rooted in reading for pleasure and with synthetic phonics at its heart, Oxford Reading Tree‘s well-loved characters, breadth (over 800 books!), and varied writing styles give children everything they need to become confident readers.

Oxford Reading Tree is the home of Biff, Chip and Kipper Stories, Songbirds, Traditional Tales, inFact, and much more.

What are Oxford Levels and Book Bands?

In UK schools, Book Bands are used across different reading schemes to indicate the reading level of each book. You will see our Oxford Levels alongside the Book Band colours on the back of each Oxford Reading Tree book.

As children need a different type of support at home, we also have Read with Oxford Stages which follow the same order of progression as Oxford Levels. Take a look at how Levels, Book Bands, and Stages relate to each other:

Age 4–5 (Reception)
Oxford Level 1 | Book Band Lilac
Oxford Level 1+ | Book Band Pink
Oxford Level 2 | Book Band Red
Oxford Level 3 | Book Band Yellow
Read with Oxford Stage 2

Age 5–6 (Year 1)
Oxford Level 4 | Book Band Light blue
Oxford Level 5 | Book Band Green
Oxford Level 6 | Book Band Orange
Oxford Level 7 | Book Band Turquoise
Read with Oxford Stage 3 & 4

Age 6–7 (Year 2)
Oxford Level 7 | Book Band Turquoise
Oxford Level 8 | Book Band Purple
Oxford Level 9 | Book Band Gold
Oxford Level 10 | Book Band White
Oxford Level 11 | Book Band Lime
Read with Oxford Stage 4, 5, & 6

Oxford Levels and Book Bands

Download our full table of Oxford Levels and Book Bands used at primary school. Find out which Level is best suited to your child, and how Levels 1–20 relate to Book Bands.

This information is intended as a guide only.

Download the table >

Which series are in Oxford Reading Tree?

Because children need a diverse range of texts to build their vocabulary, and we know that different children are engaged by different genres and topics, Oxford Reading Tree has developed an extensive range of series to help schools teach children to read, to enjoy reading.

Oxford Reading Tree series include:

  • Biff, Chip and Kipper stories. This best-loved character series inspires children and helps them to develop as independent readers. Take a look at our Read with Oxford phonics books for reading at home
  • Floppy’s Phonics. These fiction and non-fiction books give children access to motivating and humorous decodable texts to engage them in reading and help their fluency develop.
  • Songbirds Phonics. This series of books by best-selling author Julia Donaldson offers a rich range of beautifully written decodable stories. (We also have a range of Julia Donaldson’s Songbirds to use at home.)
  • Oxford Reading Tree inFact. A distinctive non-fiction series that engages children in reading for pleasure as powerfully as fiction.

How can I help my child learn to read at home?

You’ll find lots of expert advice and helpful tips on our Reading pages, and on our blog. The most important thing you can do is make the time to read with your child every day, whether a book sent home from school, borrowed from the library, or from your own bookshelves.

The Read with Oxford ‘My Phonics Kit’ is a great resource to have at home, and the Read with Oxford range of early readers has been especially developed to support learning at home.